FA Community Shield

Sport: Soccer
League: FA Community Shield
League Alternate: Community Shield
Formed Year: 1908
Country: UK
Website: www.thefa.com/competitions/the-fa-community-shield

The Football Association Community Shield (formerly the Charity Shield) is English football's annual match contested between the champions of the previous Premier League season and the holders of the FA Cup at Wembley Stadium. If the Premier League champions also won the FA Cup then the league runners-up provide the opposition. The fixture is recognised as a competitive super cup by the Football Association.

Organised by the FA, proceeds from the game are distributed to community initiatives and charities around the country. Revenue from the gate receipts and match programme sales is distributed to the 124 clubs who competed in The FA Cup from the First Round onwards, for onward distribution to charities and projects of their choice, while the remainder is distributed to the FA's national charity partners. The fixture was first played in the 1908–09 season, replacing the Sheriff of London Charity Shield.

The current holders are Manchester City, who defeated Liverpool 5–4 on penalties after a 1–1 draw in the 2019 match.
Next Events:
No next events found!
No teams found!